R.I.P. Mark Linkous

7 03 2010

I hate to quote a song that I can not stand, but Joni Mitchell said it best.  “You don’t know whatcha got till it’s gone”

Just like with Elliott Smith.  I’ve owned a couple of Mark Linkous’ Sparklehorse albums, but never gave them the time and attention they deserved until after he died.  With Elliott, I ended up kicking myself for not spending more time with XO while he was alive.  It mostly just sat there in my collection, next to the Good Will Hunting soundtrack.  I now adore Elliott Smith so much that I even named one of my dogs after him and now own everything he recorded, including his albums with Heatmiser.

This morning I woke up and found that Sparklehorse leader Mark Linkous had committed suicide.  He fired a bullet into his heart…Elliott commited suicide by stabbing himself in the heart.  Does that mean that Mark Linkous will be my next musical love?  It’s possible.

I had purchased used copies of Sparklehorse’s Vivadixiesubmarinetransmissionplot and Good Morning Spider within the last couple years.  Gave a quick listen to the first couple tracks and thought “I’m definitely going to have to spend time with these.”  Unfortunately, having such a large album collection; I didn’t get around to giving them a good listen until today.  I went to three record stores today and was pretty surprised Sparklehorse wasn’t coming out of the speakers at any of them.

Anyway, after listening to both of the albums….I want more, and can definitely see Sparklehorse growing on me in a major way.  I just regret, as per usual, that it took the artist’s death to appreciate their work.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

